Showing 41 results

Authority record

King's College London Faculty of Arts

  • KCL-AF1148
  • Faculty
  • 1893-1985

The origins of the Faculty of Arts lay in the Department of General Literature and Science. The Department came into being in 1839 in response to the need for a greater differentiation of the syllabus for students of the Senior Department at King's College London. As its name suggests, it constituted a broad faculty or grouping of subjects and classes that provided a core liberal syllabus in the arts and sciences available to all students of King's, including Medical students. Principal subjects included English Literature, Theology, Modern History, Classics, Modern Languages and Mathematics, but later instruction covered subjects as diverse as Geology, Law, Political Economy and Oriental Languages. The division between General Literature and Science Departments, that took place in 1888, foreshadowed the replacement of General Literature by the new Faculty of Arts in 1893. In 1904 the Department of Architecture and the Divisions of Laws and Economics were integrated into the Faculty of Arts until the Transfer Act of 1908 when the governance of King's College London was transferred to the University of London and a separate Faculty of Laws was established. The Faculty of Arts was replaced by the School of Humanities in 1989.

King's College London Faculty of Engineering

  • KCL-AF1092
  • Faculty
  • 1902-1991

The Class of Civil Engineering and Mining was founded at King's in 1838, mainly as a response to the growth of the railway system and the need for more qualified engineers. This became the Department of Civil Engineering and Architecture and Science, as Applied to Arts and Manufactures in 1840. Over the next few years this department enlarged in scope and in 1844 became the Department of the Applied Sciences. This became the Department of Engineering and the Applied Sciences in 1874. In 1893 the Division of Engineering and Applied Sciences was created as part of the Faculty of Science. The Faculty of Engineering was created in 1902, which originally was made up of the Division of Engineering and Applied Sciences. Separate departments of Civil Engineering, Mechanical Engineering and Electronic and Electrical Engineering were formed, with Civil and Mechanical Engineering combining in 1935. Civil Engineering was then closed in 1989, whilst Mechanical Engineering and Electronic and Electrical Engineering, now the Department of Electronic Engineering, became part of the School of Physical Sciences and Engineering in 1991 and the Faculty of Natural, Mathematical and Engineering Sciences in 2019.

King's College London Faculty of Science

  • Faculty
  • 1893-1921

The Department of Science was renamed the Faculty of Science in 1893 and consisted of the Division of Engineering and Applied Sciences and the Division of Natural Sciences. Engineering and Applied Sciences were briefly joined by Architecture from 1896. As part of the reoganisation during the transfer of King's College London to the University of London, the Faculty of Science was split into two separate faculties: the Faculty of Engineering and Applied Sciences and the Faculty of Science including the Department of Bacteriology in 1903. The Faculty of Science soon increased to include Divisions of Natural Science, Medical [later Science] Division, Department of Bacteriology and the Department of Public Health. By 1921 the Faculty of Science was once again rearranged to become the Faculty of Natural Science.

King's College London School of Law

  • KCL-AF1199
  • Faculty
  • 1991-2012

Law has been taught at King's since it opened formerly in 1831, and originally came under the Senior Department and then the Department of General Literature and Science. Under the Faculty of Arts from 1893, it was known as the Division of Laws and Economics. The Faculty of Laws was founded in association with the London School of Economics in 1909, and became known as the School of Law in 1991. It is a single department school, but is comprised of various research centres and groups, including the British Institute of Human Rights, set up in 1971, the Centre of European Law, founded in 1974, the Centre of Medical Law and Ethics, created in 1978, and the Centre of British Constitutional Law and History, established in 1988.

Results 1 to 20 of 41