The papers of Kathleen and Millicent Coleman comprise three classes of material: the private papers of the sisters and the Coleman family, 1842-1957; records relating to the National Children's Home, 1935-1981 largely CLOSED; and the Pestalozzi Village Trust, 1948-1989. Personal papers include a diary and pharmacopoeias, correspondence, examination certificates, photographs and printed books, 1842-1957, notably including a detailed manuscript medical diary describing life on board ship and a medical practice in Africa, 1842-1844, probably compiled by John Albert Sidney Coleman, grandfather of Kathleen and Millicent Coleman; pharmacopoeias containing remedies and prescriptions, with printed pharmacopoeias, compiled by Mark Coleman and others, reflecting the transition of the Coleman family business from patent remedies to modern pharmacy, 1851-1894; correspondence with Kathleen and Millicent Coleman, mainly descriptions of daily life in the National Children's Home and describing psychological testing of the children, 1927-1948 (CLOSED); family correspondence and legal documents including letting agreements and deeds of partnership, the will of Mathew Coleman, the sisters' great uncle, and relating to their father and his career, letters containing family news and gossip, 1845-1928; examination certificates and prize lists relating to the education of Kathleen and Millicent Coleman, 1922-1933; photographs of the Coleman family during the 1890s, during World War One and of Kathleen and Millicent Coleman on holiday, [1928], of Lady Eleanor Holles School, 1921-1933, group photographs of students and staff in King's College London Department of History, 1929-1955, photographs of various National Children's Home establishments, 1934-1957; a small collection of printed books concerned with the history, customs and government of London and the Home Counties, [1945-1985] (Boxes 70-74, now on open access in the Archive reading room).

The CLOSED records of the National Children's Home, 1935-1981, notably comprising Vocational Guidance Record Sheets, consisting of files on individual children that included intelligence test results, memory tests and individual comments, arranged in alphabetical order, 1938-1964 (Boxes 1-23); test results and evaluations of named children for tests organised by the National Institute of Industrial Psychology including the Porteus Maze Test and scoring sheets, 1957-1960 (Boxes 24-28); psychological evaluations of children at different branches of the children's home, notably in Cardiff, Harpenden, Nottingham and Glasgow, including individual test results and assessments with broad statistics and educational recommendations by visitors, 1942-1963 (Boxes 29-40); pupil record cards containing biographical information, aptitude tests and psychological test results for children at various homes, [1948-1960] (Boxes 41-42); material relating to the Brentwood College of Education including a working party on syllabuses, staff lists, the relationship with the University of London Institute of Education, manuscript notes and some psychological test results of children engaged in the so-called Gifted Child Study, 1971-1974 (Boxes 43-44); material relating to vocational aptitude and the placement of older children in trades and professions such as the armed forces and Civil Service, notably including psychologists' reports, 1935-1965 (Boxes 45-56); questionnaires of 18 year-old former residents conducted in 1954-1956 (Box 57); material relating to European refugees resident in the NCH including named children and correspondence with the Central Committee for Refugees, 1942-1949 (Boxes 58-59); general correspondence with Millicent Coleman relating to local authorities, staff and the emigration of children to Australia, 1951-1962; manuscript visitation report book assessing particular homes, 1946-1949; report on the incidence of enuresis (incontinence) in homes, 1946-1950; publicity material mainly created at the time of the centenary and on other children's charities, 1951-1981; careers and apprenticeship literature, 1938-1954; photographs and negatives of students and buildings, 1938-1939 (Boxes 60-62); psychological testing materials including test cards displaying words and pictures, [1958] (Boxes 63-69).

The records of the Pestalozzi Village Trust, 1948-1989, comprise typescript notes compiled by Millicent Coleman, who served on its governing Council. These consist mainly of Council minutes and supporting material, 1948-1989; Committee minutes including Finance and Management Committees, 1953-1985; Annual Reports and Accounts, 1961-1974; policy reports on the development and strategic direction of the Village, 1959-1973; correspondence with Millicent Coleman regarding Trust business and liaison with the National Children's Home, 1953-1985.

Dr Freedman's research papers for the opening historical talk at a symposium held to mark Dulwich Hospital's centenary celebration in 1985. Includes correspondence; drafts and text of final version of the talk; plans of the hospital; some 1940s and 1950s electrocardiograms (ECGs) 'on Eindovers string galvanometer' [possibly made at Dulwich Hospital], and programmes for the opening of the operating theatre suite, 1958 and the opening of a new ward in the renal unit, [mid 1980s]. (Note: the talk was never given as the celebration was cancelled.)

The papers of Edna Holdsworth, 1913-1928, comprise one file of correspondence and prospectus information relating to the student record of Edna Holdsworth, nee Johnson, who studied Household and Social Science at King's College for Women, Kensington, notably application letters, references and some printed information booklets and examination papers, 1915-1916.

Records of King's College Hospital, 1562-1999, comprising the governing and management bodies' and sub-committees' minutes and papers, 1839-1976; files of senior administrative staff including the Hospital Secretary, House Governor and District Administrator, 1853-1990; title deeds and other legal documents, 1562-[1970]; registers, indexes and inventories, 1879-1980; Medical School papers, 1833-1997, including the Medical Society/Listerian Society, the Clubs and Societies Union, and the Medical School Library; private papers of several professors, 1834-1988, including Albert Carless, Arthur Edmunds, Sir (Harold Arthur) Thomas Fairbank, and Herbert Willoughby Lyle; case notes, 1820-1959; ephemera, 1742-1998, including programmes for ceremonies and events, Hospital serials and publications, appeals and publicity, photographs and press cuttings; minutes and annual reports of the Friends of King's College Hospital, 1955-1988; Hospital accounts, 1961-1981; records of the Thrombosis Research Unit, [1972-1996]; records of the Nightingale Institute, 1813-1999.

South-Western Polytechnic, Chelsea Polytechnic, Chelsea College of Science and Technology, and Chelsea College Lectures includes copies of inaugural lectures by newly appointed professors on subjects as diverse as science education, physics in a social context and the science of botany, 1969-1980; public lecture texts on occasions ranging from memorial speeches to the award of prizes, 1905-1974; audio tape recordings of lectures and addresses including on the history of the College and of various inaugural lectures, 1965-1973 (Ref: C/LEC, C/LECT)

Chelsea College Library records, 1895-1987, comprise papers collected by the College Library or describing the work of the Library on the Chelsea campus following the merger with King's College in 1985, notably correspondence with the College Secretary and departments, 1974-1980; papers relating to Library computerisation, 1979-1987; staffing and salary matters, 1978-1985; University Grants Committee papers on libraries, 1974-1982; History and Philosophy of Science Library correspondence and bibliography, 1964-1987; Chelsea Campus Libraries Users Committee notes, 1985-1987; finance, 1975-1977; concerning the College History Collection, 1965-1974; notes relating to building and planning at the King's Road site, 1971-1987; University of London merger and other papers, 1978-1983; reports on medical education in London, 1980; concerning Library private papers, 1949-1970; Library Annual Reports, 1963-1987 (1992/CAL, CAL/1986); correspondence concerning Library donors and Zoology reprints, 1967-1985 (Ref: 1986/CAL); accessions registers, 1921-1975 (Ref: CAL/RG); lists of current periodicals, 1960-1974 (Ref: CAL/RGJ); payments books for stock, equipment and expenses, 1960-1973 (Ref: CAL/CB); Library staff personnel files for leavers between 1970-1976 (Ref: CAL/FP); material concerning the history of the College accumulated by the Library, including charters, official reports, with some press cuttings, 1914-1981 (Ref: CAL/H).

General administrative and reference papers, 1961-1974, of the Nuffield Foundation Science Teaching Project, comprising correspondence and other papers, 1962-1973, including progress reports relating to dependent projects, correspondence on trustees, circulars to schools, material on teachers and teaching materials, staffing, curriculum development and training, correspondence with other bodies including the Association for Science Education and the Schools Council, and papers on trials, coordinators, and budgets for projects; papers relating to meetings and conferences, 1961-1972, including sixth-form science teaching, educational aid overseas, training science teachers, and Nuffield O-levels and A-levels; papers relating to publications and films, 1963-1973, including correspondence on films with Unilever Ltd and the BBC and on text books, and correspondence with publishers; papers relating to apparatus and equipment, 1964-1974, including correspondence with manufacturers, orders, papers on safety, laboratory design and storage of apparatus, equipment trials, and lists of suppliers; papers relating to teaching materials and examinations, 1964-1973, including examination papers on O- and A-level physics, physical sciences, chemistry and biology, papers relating to CSE examinations, correspondence on the acceptance of pupils with Nuffield qualifications at universities, and papers on programmed learning, multiple choice testing, and pupils' responses.

Pharmacy material at the South-Western Polytechnic, Chelsea College and King's College London, comprises correspondence, minutes, theses, staff publications and exam question papers, 1935-1997. It includes correspondence relating to student prizes, examinations, enrolment of students, and the staffing and management of the Department of Pharmacy, Chelsea College and at King's College London, 1958-1995; minutes, papers and correspondence relating to the University of London Board of Studies in Pharmacy, Chelsea College Department of Chemistry, Departmental Board, and the Pharmaceutical Society of Great Britain, 1939-1992; bound copies of postgraduate theses and dissertations for students of Pharmacy, Chelsea College, and of King's College London following the merger of 1985, 1965-1993; off-prints of publications by members of staff of the Department of Pharmacy, Chelsea College, including copies of the Journal of pharmacy and pharmacology and Biochemical pharmacology , 1957-1978; sessional and final exam question papers for students of pharmacy, Chelsea College and King's College London, 1935-1995; lists of exam results and pass lists for undergraduate and postgraduate students of pharmacy, 1976-1988.

South-Western Polytechnic, Chelsea Polytechnic, Chelsea College of Science and Technology, and Chelsea College Syllabuses & Prospectuses contains sets of general undergraduate prospectuses for Chelsea courses, 1895-1985, and of general postgraduate syllabuses, 1967-1985; prospectuses for specific undergraduate and postgraduate component courses of study including physics, chemistry, electronics, pharmacy and science education, 1962-1985 (Ref: C/SYL)

King's College London Prospectuses and Syllabuses include: an incomplete run of general undergraduate prospectuses, 1854-1897, and complete, 1964-2000; incomplete general postgraduate prospectuses, 1971-1975, and complete, 1977-2000; bound volumes of detailed prospectuses for specific departments and faculties, 1964-1973, 1975-1978; loose detailed prospectuses for specific departments and faculties including Evening Classes, 1863-1918, Arts/Humanities, 1913-2011, Classics, Modern Greek and Byzantine Studies, 1918-1995, History, 1913-1999, War Studies, 1985-2010, Architecture, 1908-1909, Modern Language Departments, 1917-2007, Philosophy, 1980-1982, Engineering, Electronic/Electrical Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, 1843-1844, 1917-1919, 1960-2006, Journalism, 1937-1940, Theology, 1897-2009, Education, 1969-2012, Laws, 1917-1918, 1978-2012, Life Sciences in general and specific departments, 1968-2008, Medical Sciences, 1900-2010, Music, 1965-2000, Natural Sciences in general and specific departments, 1840-2009, Physical Sciences in general and specific departments, 1985-2012 (Ref: K/SYL, K/EC/SYL, KFA/SYL, KDJ/SYL, KDMA/SYL, KDW/SYL, KFE/SYL, KFED/SYL, KFL/SYL, KFLS/SYL, KFM/SYL, KFMS/SYL, KFN/SYL, KFPS/SYL, KFT/SYL).

Queen Elizabeth College Syllabuses and Prospectuses comprises a set of the Department/College's prospectuses for prospective students, with brochures covering the work of particular courses and specific qualifications and degrees, including Nutrition, Biology, Physiology and Mathematics, 1909-1985 (Ref: Q/SYL)